S&M is for people with Red Hair


How can I begin this post without spending an excessive amount of time giving you back story? Maybe I can mimic a really bad spoken word poem, and speak in numbers.

1) Every time I say his name, it curls my tongue in two.

2) He has 27 books of photography to his credit, one of which has more value than many of my friendships.

Wait.

3) He is the color of an isolated pile of sand.

4) Many feminists despise his art. I want to cuddle with it when I have no human to lock toes with.

5) I’ve never felt a crook in my neck so good as the one I caught the night I watched his debut film. However, I am making a New Year’s Resolution to show up to theaters on time so that I am never again subjected to front row seating.

If you have succeeded in clicking the link above, then your memory should have been jogged a few years back and into the creative imagination of David Lachapelle. Hopefully, you have had the opportunity to fall in love with his lens and minutely experience life from a different perspective. I always do, and Rihanna’s “S&M” video confirms that I am not the only one who appreciates Chapelle’s intrigue with latex and color theory.

Though this video came out almost one year ago, I recently found out via The Daily Mail (UK) that Chapelle sued Rihanna for one million dollars. His reason being that Rihanna copied Chapelle’s “composition, total concept, feel, tone, mood, theme, colours, props, settings, decor, wardrobe and lighting’ of his work.” In October of 2011, Rihanna made it rain something nice and the only thing we’ve heard from Chapelle is that he is enjoying the weather.

Given Melina Matsoukas’ (the director of “S&M”) filmography, I am convinced that she can rely on her own talent. My assumption is that she was most likely paying homage to an artist whose art speaks in more pixels than a million. Perhaps there is some truth to Charles Caleb Colton’s idiom: “imitation is the sincerest form of flattery”.

So I guess the moral of this not so relevant post is to stay away from bad spoken word poets, because they do not make enough money for you to be compensated even if they did “flatter you”.

One thought on “S&M is for people with Red Hair

Leave a Reply

