Are We Evolving?


As of late, I’ve convinced myself that I’m either extremely confused or overwhelmingly enlightened. Maybe I’m oscillating between the two. Which is even more confusing…or enlightening. Whatever.

I’m pretty sure a lot of us have discussed the oil spill in great detail. Some of us with sinking hearts, and others with a nonchalant demeanor. Some of us have cried, protested, and prayed, while others have tweeted, donated, and facebooked. And still, others are asking, what are we really doing?

Not just about the oil spill. But period.

I mean yes, as humans we have done some great things. We have flown to the moon (so they say), developed laptops that conveniently fit into manilla envelopes, and have even elected a Black President.

But if you ask me, I say in comparison to the history books most of us have read (and hated), our leaps of accomplishment are more like flea bites in time.

Consider that in 3500 b.c. Nubians were building pyramids. Fast forward to 2010 and Americans are camping out overnight to buy the latest smartphone. 

Is this what scientists meant by evolution? Show me where to grow a new limb that will help me fly out of this place, and I will be there with my sleeping bag. 

The majority of our “developments” are reactions to fear. Whether it be a machine that blasts air all over us as we walk through the security gate to a terminal, or a new gadget to take our minds off the fact that we just got our wigs blasted back, there is no question that our sanity is being swept under the rug, to clear the space for more confusion. 

And just to further prove the point I think I am trying to make: 

 What is the purpose of an iPad? 

#Imjustsaying.

12 thoughts on “Are We Evolving?

  1. My dear Talia…

    As I sit here absorbing what you just stated, I was staring at the computer with 3 different webpages open at work. Supposed to be working but really gazing at the screen because my mind wanted to daydream…this is what we have evolved to: multitasking, robots only able amuse ourselves with the latest gadget and 3D movies (cause apparently, we like to be in “touch” with the characters). It’s sad really, watching people on dates with their opposable thumb and index finger ready to post the latest event (“his breath stinks”, “she wasn’t as hot as I thought”, etc). I watch this and feel the sense of doom as well.

    I do have an iPhone, I do sometimes play a game or tweet while in bed with my beloved. But I have also come from a generation who used to hang out with the girls on the block and listen to music on my porch. When playdates were about coming over to play with our hair, play cards or bake.

    What’s the new generation going to do?

  2. Yes, I, Homo sapiens, am about to undergo a macroevolutionary event.

    The iPad is just one of my physical manifestation undergoing microevolution within My Creation.

    Peace,

    Ik

  3. Yes, I, Homo sapiens, am about to undergo a macroevolutionary event.

    The iPad is just one of My physical manifestations undergoing microevolution within My Creation.

    Peace,

    Ik

  4. Thanks for this very entertaining post. It made me laugh.

    I’m sure there must have been some Nubians that weren’t particularly interesting in the pyramids and were standing in line for the latest ink quill and papyrus.

    Mankind will continue to “veg” until it starts to run out of resources and food. Then something will happen that will cause us to redefine our existence. I’m not saying that we’re going to evolve. I’m saying that humans will not be living how we’re living today – which is best exemplified by the iPad. Until then, it’s business as usual.

  5. I watched book of eli again.its deep seeing what we are in the absence of what we’ve grown so accustomed to. I feel that the advancements in technology are harmless as long as the advancement in human ethics can mirror it. Individually we have to be agents of change enuff to benefit those who come into contact with us.not as proselytizers nor as converters. Just simple un assuming living examples. It doesn’t require perfection.if anything it requires the imperfections of a human with resolve to do better. Our small circle is a microcosm of the whole.we have to start somewhere…essentially from within ourselves.

  6. It’s about tools. What you do with it is up to the user. You can use a smart phone as a coaster if you want to. The idea is you maximize the productivity of the tools that you have access to. The great thing about modern life is you can make it what you want. So you can wait inline a get the new iPad or not that’s up to you. You can play games on that or use it as a hub to your life journey. Shit you can use it as a hammer to build your house (won’t be effective but…) tools are tools users use them.

  7. Shaa took the words out my mouth. I don’t think technology is the problem, it’s what folks choose to do with it. It blows my mind that with a push of a button I can send a letter to someone halfway around the world in a matter of seconds when letters used to take months to be delivered. My cell phone allows me to talk to anyone, anytime, no matter where i’m at (unless I’m in a dead zone with no reception, ha). There has never been a period of time like this in humankind’s history where so much information has been available to us. Just by typing a few words into Google I can research almost any topic imaginable.

    But still the point remains, do I use the technology to be productive, network, enhance my engagement of the world, educate myself on different topics? Or do I use it to forward stupid jokes to everyone i know, talk about nothing on Twitter, call up my homie serving a tour of duty in Iraq on his cellie only to catch him up on the latest gossip on the block, download pirated music and movies, and use Google to find out what Kanye West had for breakfast?

    I think technology gives us the potential to evolve as much as any other point in history, but it’s up to us to stop using it only for distractions & entertainment and find ways to use it to serve our purpose in life. I personally fall somewhere in between. I’m not immune to occasionally getting caught up in the fuckery and distractions, but I’ve also found plenty of occasions when the “developments” of technology have provided me with opportunities & connections I never would’ve otherwise had which contributed greatly to my own personal evolution.

    P.S. to me an iPad is perfect for folks who really don’t need high powered computers. i actually want to get one for my parents. they really only need computers for Internet, e-mail, word processing, and spreadsheets. at 500 bucks the iPad is a way cheaper and practical alternative for them than spending hella money for a powerful computer that they don’t even need. it’s simple and it won’t crash on them and they can pretty much do everything on it that they use their computer for. now if you make music, do graphic design, video production, or anything else that requires a fast processor, lots of RAM, etc. then an iPad isn’t gonna help u. but I think tablet computers are the next wave of bringing technology to little kids, old folks, and everyday ppl who really don’t need all the extras that a pc or mac provide.

  8. I feel that we have evolved somewhat, but not compared to our ancestors before us.

    Technology as we have come to love and breath for, is amazing such as Apple’s products as a whole, and that computer imaging picture frame that changes with your mood (I want one of those). However, the mass is not taking part in the engineering of such “tech-savvy” feats, we are enjoying the fruit of other peoples labor.

    The Nubian s cut rock with diamonds and light from the sun. Yes I do believe not all were a part of the construction of the pyramids, but philosophy also originated from Egypt (and not Greece) so i believe the ones that were not intrigued with building monuments that we now oooooo and aaahhh over today were creating theories and philosphy methods that we study or studied in school as well.
    And we did not even mention the Moors and their science discoveries.

    I was watching the Great Debaters last night, and just to mimic what Samantha Booke with an E and Henry Lowe did in their time would have gave me the notion that I need to step my game up when it comes to knowledge. Just to be able to obtain so much knowledge and spit out quotes and genius at a drop of a quarter (I say quarter because it drops faster then a hat) just makes me just want to pick up a book or use my brain for good.

    I know I am rambling, but the crux of the matter is that I believe technology is dope, it makes everything that much more fast, efficient, and more exciting. Nevertheless I believe it is stunting our growth as beings and getting away from using our potential that we are blessed with.

    P.S. BP dropped the ball. This would’ve never happen if they just spent a little more money and put the shut off valve on the piping plans like the Europeans did. Now all of those fisherman are stuck without a job and for some the thing they love most in life. I think it is a plot to destroy Louisiana.

  9. In todays day in age, society is so lazy! Those of kemetic decent also had needles, combs make-up,and more jewels in anything they wanted. It seems we have become complacent with being greedy and selfish through the implication of brainwashing and reconditioning. Other institutions and organizations keep us distracted and numb to ourselves and many other issues for insurance.Media,technology,materialistic item.Like you said T technology is cooool and it does help out but most folks are not perfect so you can’t expect them to always have the right answer or ways. All these reinforcements we should look at like drugs….if you engulf and engage yourself to much into one or more, you lose yourself. Just like if you take too many damn aspirin, you’ll be taking a dirt nap! Lets get more into holistic care people!…..Connect with yourself,disconnect from this society! Right on T!

  10. In today’s day in age, society is so lazy! Those of kemetic decent also had needles, combs make-up,and more jewels in anything they wanted. It seems we have become complacent with being greedy and selfish through the implication of brainwashing and reconditioning. Other institutions and organizations keep us distracted and numb to ourselves and many other issues for insurance.Media,technology,materialistic item.Like you said T technology is cooool and it does help out but most folks are not perfect so you can’t expect them to always have the right answer or ways. All these reinforcements we should look at like drugs….if you engulf and engage yourself to much into one or more, you lose yourself. Just like if you take too many damn aspirin, you’ll be taking a dirt nap! Lets get more into holistic care people!…..Connect with yourself,disconnect from this society! Right on T!

Leave a Reply

